Dark figure next to the vertical title "The Devil Particle"

Coming Soon: The Devil Particle

Forty years in the future, evil is a known quantity which can be collected and contained in a vessel, but that vessel has to be human. Seventeen-year-old Paul Salvage wants to be the human vessel to prove to the world, and himself, that he is good. But first he must compete in the Vessel Trials against forty-nine other candidates, including his girlfriend. What will it take for Paul to win and at what cost?

Cover of Carpe Diem, Illinois

Award-winning Carpe Diem, Illinois is the first book in the Leo Townsend Series

For decades, the small town of Carpe Diem, Illinois has quietly unschooled its children, eschewing tests and classrooms for real-life experiences. Now, long-smoldering political feuds and deep personal secrets threaten to explode. More

God on Mayhem Street cover

The second book in the Leo Townsend Series

Chicago Examiner reporter Leo Townsend has landed the interview of a lifetime with openly gay, front-running US presidential candidate Griffin Carlisle. But when Leo is forced to abandon the interview to rush to the side of his estranged father, Leo’s personal and professional worlds collide.. More

Latest Newsletters and Posts

A Writer’s Book Club – Parable of the Sower

Welcome to my Writer’s Book Club! This month’s selection is the New York Times Bestseller Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler. Butler was a renowned novelist and, in 1955, she became the first science fiction writer to win the MacArthur Fellowship.

In Parable of the Sower, fifteen-year-old Lauren Olamina lives in a gated California community with her preacher father and her family.

Climate change and economic uncertainties have made living outside the community’s walls dangerous. When a violent mob tears the wall down, Lauren embarks on a quest to start a new life.

And here’s a surprise — Parable of the Sower, published in 1993, begins in the year 2024!